06 October 2014

Nobel Prize for the GPS system in the brain

The first laureates of the Nobel Week are named

Echo of MoscowThe Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2014 was awarded to researchers John O'Keefe (John O'Keefe), as well as spouses May Britt and Edward (May-Britt Moser, Edvard Moser) for their work on the cell biology of the brain

The Nobel Committee at the Karolinska Medical Institute reported on Monday in Stockholm.

The scientists were awarded for their work in the field of neurophysiology, in particular, for studying the work of neural networks and positioning in the brain, i.e. for the study of cells that allow a person to navigate in space.

John O'Keefe was born in 1939. Neurophysiologist, Professor at the Institute of Cognitive Neurophysiology and the Faculty of Anatomy (University College London).

The Mosers (Mae Britt was born in 1963, Edward in '62) are Norwegian scientists, psychologists, and neurophysiologists. They became associate professors of psychology and Neurophysiology at the Norwegian University of Natural and Technical Sciences in 1996, less than a year after defending their dissertations. They founded the Center for the Biology of Memory in 2002 and the Kavli Institute, the 15th in the world and the 4th in neuroscience, in 2007.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine is one of the five Nobel Prizes. Awarded annually by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. It was established by Alfred Nobel in his will, written on November 27, 1895 in Paris, where the prize is mentioned as the third: "These percentages should be divided into five equal parts, which are intended: (...) the third is for someone who has achieved outstanding success in the field of physiology or medicine."

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded annually since 1901, except 1915, 1916, 1917, 1918, 1921, 1925, 1940, 1941 and 1942. Since then, more than 200 scientists have received the award.

The award ceremony, including today's laureates, will be held according to tradition on December 10, the day of the death of the founder of the Nobel Prizes — the Swedish entrepreneur and inventor Alfred Nobel. Four of the five prizes bequeathed to him – in the field of physiology or medicine, physics, chemistry and literature, as well as in the field of economics, established in 1968 in memory of Nobel by the Swedish State Bank – will be awarded in Stockholm. The Peace Prize, according to the will of its founder, is awarded in Oslo.

On October 7, the winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics will be announced.

Portal "Eternal youth" http://vechnayamolodost.ru06.10.2014

Found a typo? Select it and press ctrl + enter Print version